While My Guitar Gently Weeps

I suddenly decided that I like The Beatles song ‘While my Guitar gently weeps’. The song is so awesome that there are many different versions of it. As they say, imitation is the best form of flattery.

If you were wondering why The Beatles were crazy popular back when our parents were teenagers, then this song pretty much settles it.

Check it out, I found some other interesting versions of this song. This one by Santana[Love the voice of the Girl].

Some dude on the comments section told me about the Eric Clapton version. I HAD to check it out.

Eric Clapton, as usual, didn’t disappoint[Guess who is on the Piano!!].

Another version a YouTuber asked me to check. It was his rendering of the famous song. Its nice, so what the heck, I’ll post it.

Which one of the versions I prefer? It has to be Eric Clapton version. There is something magical about that dude. He gets me. . .

The one song I really admire by Clapton is his ‘Tears in Heaven’.

Clapton’s son, Conor, dies and he is devastated. He gives up playing music for a while. He cant handle the pain, so he vents out his sadness in this beautiful piece of music. He and Will Jennings write this song. The fact that it goes onto become a very famous song is immaterial. What is important here is the song itself, its lyrics, its soul: a father’s cry for his son aching to be with him, hoping they will meet in heaven; wondering if his little boy will recognize him, hold his hand when they do meet in heaven; wondering if there is peace ‘Beyond the door ‘.

Would you know my name
If I saw you in heaven
Will it be the same
If I saw you in heaven
I must be strong, and carry on
Cause I know I don’t belong
Here in heaven

Would you hold my hand
If I saw you in heaven
Would you help me stand
If I saw you in heaven
I’ll find my way, through night and day
Cause I know I just can’t stay
Here in heaven

Time can bring you down
Time can bend your knee
Time can break your heart
Have you begging please
Begging please

Beyond the door
There’s peace I’m sure.
And I know there’ll be no more…
Tears in heaven

Would you know my name
If I saw you in heaven
Will it be the same
If I saw you in heaven
I must be strong, and carry on
Cause I know I don’t belong
Here in heaven

Cause I know I don’t belong
Here in heaven

Sometimes a song is more than a piece of music. Its piece of one’s soul; a string of words expressing an emotion felt deeply, some sacred bond between the artist and the listener. Eric Clapton’s ‘Tears in Heaven’ is one such song for me. . .

Everyone interprets a song in their own way, I’ve done the same.

3 Comments

Filed under About Anoop, Happy, S, Uncategorized

3 responses to “While My Guitar Gently Weeps

  1. hello …….. boy on ET blogs. i’ve read ur comments ….. weren’t you the guy arguing with those women on the cricket blog… haha … it was super entertaining. So u’ve started blogging yourself .. cool … see ya around fellow bangalorean.

  2. Best one is George Harrison’s Bangladesh concert.

Leave a Reply

