Aamir Khan is way better

Me and my friends always fight over who is better- Aamir Khan or Shahrukh Khan. Its one of those debates which really don’t have a true purpose other than to pull the Shahrukh Khan fan’s leg.

But, I got to say, me being a pro-Aamir Khan, got a massive boost last Sunday the 6th : Aamir Khan’s Satyameva Jayate, his first TV show aired that day.

I am not going to shout down other contemporaries who have not gone the path of Aamir Khan, but want to genuinely appreciate what Aamir Khan has done and will be doing in the subsequent episodes of Satyameva Jayate, literally meaning “Truth alone triumphs”.

This is a fantastic show. Although the female foeticide and/or female infanticide is rampant in India, not many people had the courage to talk about it, at least had the means of getting the message across to all sections of people and with such great impact. True, Aamir Khan being a household name and a star greatly helps, but that is the crux of the matter isn’t it.

Aamir Khan has a life that most of Indians crave for. He didn’t have to go and do a show which will take up the issues faced by ordinary Indians. He could have been blissfully ignorant of the issues of India and could have happily spent the rest of his life in a bubble. But, he chose to look beyond himself, that many famous people (not all, obviously) seem incapable of.

Do me a favour, stop  reading, if you are, right now and go and watch the above video.

I think the Shahrukh Khan vs Aamir Khan debate is pretty much settled now, don’t you think?

3 Comments

Filed under Human Rights, Life

3 responses to “Aamir Khan is way better

  1. Hi,

    Somehow I don’t agree with this post.. I had written something similar when I used to blog as well:

    http://underneath-the-masquerade.blogspot.in/2012/07/does-truth-really-triumph-every-sunday.html

    • I respect your opinion, Ayyappan.

      In my opinion, political/social blogs tend to generate different responses. if Satyameva Jayate managed to even provoke a discussion on some very important topics, it can be called a success, isn’t it.

      Thanks for commenting, I appreciate it.

      • Ayyappan

        Now that I read my comment again, it looks somewhat rude. I didn’t intend to sound so. 🙂

        I read some more posts on your blog and I see that we’ve written on similar topics.. life, love, politics, movies & books. ( I don’t know if you have cricket on the list..!)

        I have lost the motivation to write and have been pushing myself to write something. But had I been regular then our topics would’ve definitely overlapped..! 😀

Leave a Reply

