I’ve hit a quarter century!

Warning: This is a thoroughly narcissistic piece and even might appear to be very immature. Read at you own discretion.

Exactly 25 years ago I was born in a hospital on whose spot Reliance Trends stands today.

One year ago I celebrated my most memorable birthday till date. It was a day of fun, laughter, friends and booze.. lots and lots of booze.

It was also a time to self reflect, question my place in the universe, to challenge myself to change for the better.

Have I changed? Most certainly. For the better? I’d like to think so.

1) Every year I used to count the number of people who used to drop a comment on FB. This year, I’ve turned off the birthday reminder. How hard is it to go on FB and drop a wish to a guy whom you haven’t even met in ages ,when FB promptly informs you of their birthday? Do they mean anything? About like 30 people have either texted me or called me or met me in person to celebrate my birthday,Ā  not because FB but because they remembered and think of me worthy of that honour. Is it a surprise they are some of my closest friends?

I did not count the number of people who forgot my birthday, but how many remembered it.

2) Another change is that I’ve started swimming again. I was a lazy bum, in denial about my weight and size. Yesterday, I got two people to say I’ve thinned down. All those hours of swimming is worth every penny for such a remark. Only wish I’d started this sooner, who knows I’d have ‘pataued’ a few girls when I was teenager. šŸ˜›

3) Emotionally I’ve been more balanced than I’ve ever been. It’s also the result of forced maturity by events of last year and also because of a persistent effort to gain perspective on all things in my little universe.

4) I’ve grown spiritually, but my belief in God is still a question mark. I think they call the likes of me agnostics.

5) I’ve come to see similar changes in the people around me. They all have matured into fabulous individuals and continue to grow. I hope they stay this nice forever(a tough ask).

6) Being the only child to my parents, I never minded being alone. I enjoyed my own companry. Even though I was more outgoing than most people my age and had a pretty decent social life, clearly I could have done better. That is what I am doing. Not a single weekend have I wasted being home for the past year.

One thing that hasn’t changed is my salary. That Everest seems unconquerable for the next few months.

It was nice to hear from people I was sure have forgotten of my existence. Glad to know I was wrong. Thank you. May the force be with you.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I’ve hit a quarter century!

  1. Nandita

    Happy belated birthday! I can think of some more changes you need to make but I guess it’s not my place to give advice. Wish you a great future ahead – professionally and personally. Hope you find a lovely girlfriend soon ! šŸ˜€ ……. at 25 I can imagine how important that must be ! šŸ™‚ These are the best years of life ! Financial independence and no responsibilities. Make hay while the sun shines ! šŸ™‚

    – Nandita

Leave a Reply

