Martin Niemöller about Pakistan?

First they came for the Sikhs, and I did not speak out
Because I was not a Sikh.

Then they came for the Christians, and I did not speak out
Because I was not a Christian.

Then they came for the Hindus, and I did not speak out
Because I was not a Hindus.

Then they came for the Ahmadis, and I did not speak out
Because I was not a Ahmadi.

Then they came for the Shias, and I did not speak out
Because I was not a Shia.

Then they came for me–and there was no one left to speak for me.

If you have read some similar stuff, you can pat yourself on the back, because you have. Martin Niemöller said these immortal words(which I have taken the liberty to adapt). Like Nazism dawned on the peaceful, cultured German people undetected and in stealth, Pakistan’s metamorphosis started in 1947 when that nation’s founder decided two sets of people cannot be together simply because they were from different Religions. The principle of division was just remodelled by the people of Pakistan: First to be targeted were the non-Muslims, later on some Muslim sects were declared non-Muslims.

As time went on, the number of non-Muslims fell from around 20% at the time of Partition to 3%, Ahmadis were declared to be non-Muslims and targeted. Hate, being a virus like creature, latched onto its host and spread. It was now the turn of the Shias.

India has to guard against a intolerant, violent Pakistan. When the Shias are eliminated or reduced to minuscule numbers, hate will start consuming the people who practiced it.

Pakistan is where the Indus river runs; a river from which India derived its name. Sikhism’s holiest places are in Pakistan. We have to contend with the fact that Pakistan’s decent into chaos is irreversible and we have to make sure the violence doesn’t spill over.

A sad end to a glorious land.

6 Comments

Filed under Geo-Politics, Human Rights, India's Freedom Struggle

6 responses to “Martin Niemöller about Pakistan?

  1. Pingback: “There was no one left to speak for me” « Maha Kamal's Blog

  2. Resonates deeply with me. Writing about the series of violence against minorities, I was looking for a version of Martin Niemoller’s poignant words that would capture my feelings about religious intolerance in the nation and came across your blog. Great post

  3. Doomed Lions

    A Pakistan which you dream of has no right to survive. As a Pakistani, I am willing to betray your country and join Israeli and Indian army to annihilate your vision of “tolerant” Pakistan. Willing to die for Brahman so that your version of Pakistan, if it dome come to life, dies out as well.

  4. Nandita

    Anoop, have you gone into hibernation or what dude? Write soon !

    Please write a nice Bangalore post. Post a pic or two. #IheartBangalore #Bangaloreishome … this is me getting senti…. come on … write something about bangalore !!! A request from one Bangalorean to another.

    Nandita.

Leave a Reply

